The Birth of "Blog"

18 Nov

I brushed my teeth this morning and it turned into this post. If you’ve been following this blog, you know that brushing my teeth can be a dangerous activity for me, as it often prompts my mind to wander down byways that lead to weird places. Today it got me to wondering about where we got the word “blog.” I puzzled over this innocuous word that has become so common place and so much a part of the American lexicon, but (as best my memory could recall) as little as ten years ago was completely unknown. I couldn’t come up with any reasonable or rationale derivations for the word, so off I went to my favorite on-line compendium of all facts (useless and otherwise), Wikipedia, and (unsurprisingly) found the following explanation which is quite satisfactory:

The term “weblog” was coined by Jorn Barger on 17 December 1997. The short form, “blog,” was coined by Peter Merholz, who jokingly broke the word weblog into the phrase we blog in the sidebar of his blog Peterme.com in April or May of 1999. This was quickly adopted as both a noun and verb (“to blog,” meaning “to edit one’s weblog or to post to one’s weblog”).

Cool. Ten years ago, a log of articles posted on the web turned into a “web log” which turned into a weblog” which turned into “we blog” which turned into blog.” So now I know, and now you know. Knowledge just for the pure fun of it! Go forth and amaze your friends and family.

3 Responses to “The Birth of "Blog"”

  1. Anonymous November 18, 2007 at 8:39 PM #

    COOL information! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Anonymous November 19, 2007 at 11:16 PM #

    This is quite interesting. Thanks for sharing hun. xoxo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Brushing My Teeth and the Wisconsin Court System « Faerie♥Kat’s Faerie♥Korner - April 5, 2008

    […] post info By Faerie♥Kat Categories: Abuse, Child, Drugs and Philosophy Tags: Court System, Jessica Sherwood, Joshua Schaak, London Marie Sherwood, Philosophy, Shaken Baby Syndrome This happens every day, but I don’t always remember what I philosophize about, just as I don’t always remember my dreams. But when I do, I like to write down my teeth brushing insights and share them. […]

Comments are closed.

