Lady Diamond

7 Nov

There was a lord, a lord lived in the north country
Who was a man of wealth and fame
He only had one child, a child but only one
And Lady Diamond was her name

She did not love a lord, she did not love a king
She loved a kitchen boy and William was his name
And though he brought her joy he also brought her shame
And he gave his heart to Lady Diamond

Chorus:
And his hair shines like gold, says Lady Diamond
And his eyes like crystal balls, says Lady Diamond
Bright as the silver moon, she says, bright as the sun that shines
Bright as the silver moon, she says, bright as the sun that shines
On Lady Diamond

It was a winter night the lord he got no rest
To Lady Diamond’s room he came
And sat down on the bed just like a wandering ghost
Now Lady Diamond tell me plain

Do you love a lord, you say, or do you love a king
I love a kitchen boy and William is his name
And better I love that boy than all your well-bred men
I have his heart, says Lady Diamond

Where are all my men, he said, that I gave meat and fee
Go fetch the kitchen boy and bring him here to me
They dragged him from the house and hung him on a tree
And they gave his heart to Lady Diamond

~by Steeleye Span

