Remembering 9/11/01

11 Sep

As a show of solidarity, I changed my MySpace profile default picture to one showing the Twin Towers dressed in the American flag today. A very small show of support, but a showing nonetheless.

I am so very disgusted with the lack of progress in the past six years to bring to bay the terrorist group responsible for the appalling deaths on that infamous day.

Reflecting on the atrocities committed in the name of religion throughout the centuries, I cry to think that in a day and age of enlightenment such barbarism still exists and that men live who are willing to commit carnage, mayhem, slaughter, massacre, butchery, and bloodshed upon their fellow men. And if they are not prompted to such acts by religion, they are motivated by greed.

I am more convinced than ever that mankind has passed the event horizon of mass psychosis; at times, mankind seems to be no more than so many rats crowded into a very small and grossly over-populated cage, driven to madness and tearing each other limb from limb.

I am weary, sick and very, very sad today. For I remember and can never forget what happened six years ago today, and I remember and shall never forget what has happened over the past twenty one centuries, too.

