Alone vs. Lonely

4 Sep

There are some people, and they seem to be the majority, that crave companionship. They have to be with Someone all the time. They are not complete unless they are in the company of others. They can’t figure out what to do with themselves when left alone.

I’m not one of them. I don’t mind being by myself. I actually like it.

I live alone. I like living alone. And I’m rarely ever lonely.

There is a huge difference between being alone and being lonely. You can be in a room full of people and still feel lonely. That old chestnut has been proven by a multitude of suicides. For those of us who enjoy our solitude and even appreciate our own company, being alone is an enjoyable experience. It does not fill us with anxiety or woe. Rather, we find bliss and serenity.

On the other hand, I also like the company of others. I enjoy learning about new people, places, concepts, ideas. Human contact is stimulating and exciting. Revitalizing. Fantastic.

I live in both worlds – comfortably.

This is making dating a bit of a challenge. Dating is making great demands on my time. This is, presumably, a good thing. Means I’m still desirable, if you tend to think that this should be a check-mark in the positive column. But it sure is cutting into my solitude!

