Science and God

3 Sep

One of my staunch Christian friends sent this email to me and I loved it so much, I sent it out to my entire email address book with a “very good!”:

 

 

 

God is sitting in Heaven when a scientist says to Him, “Lord, we don’t need you anymore. Science has finally figured out a way to create life out of nothing. In other words, we can now do what you did in the ‘beginning.'”

“Oh, is that so? Tell me…” replies God.

“Well, ” says the scientist, “we can take dirt and form it into the likeness of you and breathe life into it, thus creating man.”

“Well, that’s interesting. ShowMe.”

So the scientist bends down to the earth and starts to mold the soil.

“Oh no, no, no…” interrupts God,

(I love this)

“Get your own dirt.”

 

I equally loved the response I got back from one friend:

I have to admit to being agnostic, if not an outright atheist, however science still hasn’t figured out exactly what electricity is, i.e. what is it really and why does it work the way it does?? Nor gravity, nor dark matter, nor dark energy. There are probably other forces ‘out there’ we haven’t even thought of yet, much less tried to measure!!! Is that GOD????

What about the likelihood of other space-time dimensions?? Does our spirit go there??

If we don’t figure out how to keep from destroying ourselves with religious wars, overpopulation and global warming, we’re not going to seem very omnipotent at all, are we?? I am still filled with wonder at the world around me. And sad that we aren’t nearly as smart as we think we are.

So good to see you out Friday, you looked absolutely smashing!! love bk

 

 

This email sure generated a lot of discussion. Here’s a second interesting response from my Florida native flora expert:

Kat – I’m reminded of this joke every time I work in the garden. There’s an area between the sidewalk and the road that gets a lot of leaves and acorns from the oaks. This detritus over the years makes dirt and I have to go in and shovel out the extra dirt every couple of years. Amazing.

Jackie

 

 

There’s no doubt in my mind that I absolutely have the best and most interesting friends in the world!

