Grandma and the Bucket Hat

11 Dec

A bucket hat is also known as a cloche, a fitted, bell-shaped hat for women that was invented in 1908 and became popular in the 1920’s until about 1933.  Cloche hats were usually made of felt so that they conformed to the head, and were typically designed to be worn low on the forehead, with the wearer’s eyes only slightly below the brim.  The dazzling Clara Bow is an iconic example of a woman wearing this classy headgear.

On Tuesday, December 3rd, Grandma and I had tickets to see The Oak Ridge Boy’s Christmas concert here in Cedar.  And, of course, Old Man Winter chose that day to grace us with a small blizzard.

It took about 45 minutes to make the 10 minute drive, and we were very blessed to have people help us not only get the wheelchair out of the trunk and Grandma into it, a group of ladies took her into the lobby while another lady helped me find a parking space in the driving snow.

We really enjoyed the concert (except for the last 4 songs, which were just weird –an odd mix of gospel, Christmas and unusual lyrics that left us rather puzzled) and got back to the car with a little effort.  There was 8″ of snow to be cleared off the car, and while I had a very good snow brush, before I finished one half of the car, the other half needed to be done again!  And neither Grandma nor I had gloves, scarves or hats (making the -9° temperature just that much worse!) and my thin flannel coat that doesn’t zip or button provided scant warmth.

So the next day I purchased gloves for me, mittens for Grandma, and a black cloche.  It’s really cute and covers the ears without having to wear a knitted “sock” on your head.  Last night I asked Grandma if she would like me to get her one, too, and she wanted to try mine on before deciding.  Her she is wearing the bucket hat and showing off her new teddy bear arm warmers (to keep the nails on her paralyzed hand from cutting up her other arm, a problem we’ve had lately):

Brim Turned Up

Brim Turned Up

Brim Turned Down

Brim Turned Down

How I love my American Rebel Grandma!ClaraBow

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

