Loving Locker Hooking

12 Mar

If you don’t know what “locker hooking” is, you aren’t alone.  Slowly experiencing a revival, this 100 year-old technique for making rag rugs is moving out of the rug arena and into all kinds of useful items while making ecological friendly use of scrap materials.

I’ve now completed seven bracelets and three journals using the sari ribbons I made myself.  Not only are these items pretty to look at, but they feel scrumptious!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To see more views, please visit The Dream Faire.SariSign

2 Responses to “Loving Locker Hooking”

  1. LuckyXIIICreations Thu, 14 Mar 13 at 10:46 PM #

    I don’t think I’ve seen accessories like this before done with locker hooking. It is very interesting and looks really nice! Locker hooking is still on my ‘try someday’ list.

  2. Faerie♥Kat Sat, 16 Mar 13 at 10:00 AM #

    If you keep scraps or have lots of yarn and fabric sitting around, this is a great way to put them into use. Check out http://www.colorcrazy.com/ for videos and patterns, as well as two amazing books written by Theresa Pulido, and you will not only learn how to do locker hooking, but you’ll see I’m not the leader in this field, only a devotee and follower!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 289 other followers

