Totem Animal: Dragonfly

17 Jan

A totem animal expresses the spirit of that animal and the qualities we can learn from it. They are psychological and spiritual symbols that help us to develop the skills and qualities that we are lacking or needing in our lives. Animal totems work with your subconscious, tapping into your share of universal energy. Try thinking of totem animals as different channels or frequencies that we can tune into as our needs change. We simply adjust the frequency of our share of universal energy to tap into the desired channel. However, the key to understanding how to do this is being aware and perceptive of your surroundings.

Having a totem animal does not mean that you worship the animal. Rather, you use the animal totem as a spiritual tool in symbiosis with the path you are already walking. Honor and respect for nature is paramount, as Man is not above nature but one with it. Totems, indeed all of nature, help to guide us on our journey of self-discovery by making us aware of our spiritual connectedness.

I have two totem animals; my secondary totem is the Dragonfly.

From Lin’s Domain:

Dragonfly: Illusion, the Power of Light

Dragonfly is the power of light. The dragonfly inhabits two realms: air and water and the influence of both these elements will be felt by Dragonfly people. They will be emotional and passionate during their early years (the influence of water) and more balanced with greater mental clarity and control in as they mature (the influence of air).
Dragonfly is the essence of the winds of change, the messages of wisdom and enlightenment; and the communication from the elemental world. Dragonfly medicine beckons you to seek out the parts of your habits which need changing.
Call on Dragonfly to guide you through the mists of illusion to the pathway of transformation. The number 2 is important to Dragonfly, so think in terms of two year periods when you begin a change. Dragonfly brings the light and color of transformation into your life.

From Animal Totem:

Dragonfly eggs are laid within their territory near the water. Once hatched, these nymphs will live nearly two years on the bottom of streams and ponds. As they reach adulthood an amazing thing occurs, they transform into dragonflies and ascend to the air. In the air, they travel with wings that sparkle with spectacular colors by reflecting and refracting light and other colors. No insect or bird can maneuver as well as a dragonfly. Flying up to 30 mph, they will twist, turn, move up and down, fly backwards, even change directions instantaneously and still will spot movement 40 feet away.

The power of Dragonfly lies in its ability to see around things by looking from different angles. Using its ability to transform colors and lights by reflecting and refracting them, Dragonfly shows us that life, like light, can bend, shift, and adapt in various ways, making life’s appearance never be what it appears to be. Dragonfly’s magic shows us to see through life’s illusions and find our true vision. It calls us to transform within our lives and reminds us to feel deeply so we will have the compassion necessary to help ourselves and others.

From Lily Therese:

Dragonfly: Life Cycles, Ancient Times, Water, Clairvoyance, Transformation

Dragonfly is a large predatory insect that fly’s swiftly catching smaller insects in mid-air by means of its basket- like arrangement of legs. Dragonfly is commonly called a Mosquito Hawk because both the dragonfly and hawk are both carnivorous. Dragonfly eats large quantities of mosquitoes. The name Darning Needle comes from the shape of the body which is very pointed. Most dragonflies are skinny, have large wings and are brilliantly colored. The colors are jewel-like and the brightest colors take time to develop. These ancient insects are over 180 million years old. Dragonflies have two life stages. The first life stage is the aquatic life stage or larval form, and most of a dragonflies lifespan is spent in this form. Dragonfly has huge eyes. Each eye contains over 30,000 facets. Dragonflies are very skilled fliers and can fly backwards and hover like a helicopter. They mate, hunt, feed, and lay eggs in flight. The eggs develop in a pond or other water source. The hatched young are called nymphs.

There are approximately 650 species in North American. Dragonflies live in a wide range of habitats and are usually found near water. Dragonfly’s message is to take time to develop properly. Spend time in or around the water. Use a variety of colors when you dress and do not forget to try something new occasionally. Reach beyond your boundaries and you will not be disappointed. Take a class in clairvoyance.

Dragonfly has been my totem for over 25 years. I say that Dragonfly is my secondary totem because I have learned all that I can learn from Dragonfly and it is now time to seek a new totem. When I find my new totem, Hummingbird will become my secondary totem and the new totem will become my primary totem as I begin a fresh voyage of discovery.

I will soon be preparing banners to honor my faithful Dragonfly totem.

Digg!

5 Responses to “Totem Animal: Dragonfly”

  1. Hummingbirdshaman Fri, 3 Oct 08 at 11:09 AM #

    I’m intrigued with your mention of your totem’s. I’ve been working with hummingbird totems for some time, and write about it at http://www.hummingbirdshaman.com. During the warmer drier months my hummingbird friends have moved with their food source, only to visit with me 2-3 times in the last two months. One thing I have noticed is the appearance of a dragonfly at one of the locations where I rendevous with the hummingbirds, with the message that they have come in their place. This is most acceptable, and came as a plessant surprise.

    Thanks for all the interesting info on your site!

  2. Jenny Thu, 11 Dec 08 at 5:44 PM #

    Hello,

    Many thanks for this interesting site. The reason why I reply is that a few years ago an American Indian at a Pow Wow in England signed his
    White Eagle cards with a message inside about the Dragon Fly. Which was so spooky as minutes before I saw the most amazing Dragon fly which was so big I could not beleive the size. I find it a bit scary but not sure of my message from what had happended at that time?

    Some times they show up in the garden but what happened that day stays with me.

    Once again a truly lovely site
    Jenny

    • Faerie♥Kat Thu, 11 Dec 08 at 10:06 PM #

      Hi Jenny

      Dragonfly is a wonderful spirit guide. There are many dragonflies where I
      live, too, because there is a pond behind the houses across the street.
      Whenever I see a dragonfly, their fast, darting movement always reminds how
      quickly things can change and they invite me to think about changes going
      on in my life. When they alight and are still, their beautiful
      stained-glass-like wings remind me to look for fresh perspectives, as
      through a magical glass that transforms illusions and grants visions. My
      Dragonfly friends also remind me to relax and breathe deeply and fully.

      You have been blessed to receive such a lovely spirit friend. Dragonfly is
      a gentle guide and is nothing to fear. You will not have to struggle to
      learn the lessons that Dragonfly will teach you; simply relax and enjoy
      Dragonfly’s aerobatic antics until you are ready to receive additional
      messages. Some people like to keep journals or diaries; this never worked
      for me, it made me too tense. For me, being in a rather drowsy state and
      simply “musing” and “mulling over” what I was seeing (flowers, trees, sky)
      as I watched my Dragonfly friends cavort placed me in the best receptive
      mood to receive Dragonfly’s messages. They are sometimes very subtle, like
      a nudge that pulls my thoughts in a direction I’ve never considered, or
      perhaps simply a new feeling of awareness I haven’t had before. I never
      feel the need to rush to record these, instead I remain in my drowsy state
      and mull the thoughts/feelings over, finding little niches to tuck them
      into in my mind (recording them mentally, if you like) so I will have
      immediate sense-memory recall later.

      I wish you many wonderful and wonder-filled years of enlightenment as you
      interact with your Dragonfly guide!

      Faerie blessings,

      Kat

      > [Original Message]
      >

  3. Liara Covert Wed, 18 Mar 09 at 9:54 AM #

    Sensing enchanted creatures using one’s third eye can be very illuminating. Magical beings decide when they wish to be discerned. Their energy vibration enables them fluid movement in ways denser energy beings are unable to experience. To believe in somethign manifests it in unexpected ways. Thanks for sharing the beautiful ideas on this blog.

    • Faerie♥Kat Wed, 18 Mar 09 at 1:48 PM #

      Thank you for stopping by, Dr. Liara.

      I peeked in on your blog today and found it filled with fascinating ideas;
      I certainly will be making time to visit again soon.

      Faerie blessings,

      Ms. Kat

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 309 other followers

